IDK Puzzles

April 12, 2022 at 4:56 am Leave a comment

I like logic, and I like beer, so it’s no surprise that this is one of my favorite online comics:

Not sure why that’s funny? There’s an explanation at www.beingamathematician.org.

Logic puzzles in which a protagonist states, “I don’t know!” are ubiquitous. Borrowing from texting culture, I’ve taken to calling these IDK Puzzles.

Every math person remembers the first non-routine problem they solved and, more importantly, the feeling they experienced when solving it. The first time I had that feeling occurred after solving a logic puzzle about three children’s ages that I discovered in a Martin Gardner book; now many years later, I don’t remember the title of the book, and the following is my best recollection of the puzzle:

Two neighbors are speaking. One asks the other, “I know you have three children, but how old are they?”

The other says, “The product of their ages is 72.”

The first neighbor says, “I still don’t know their ages.”

“Well,” says the other, “the sum of their ages is equal to our street address.”

The first neighbor again replies, “I still don’t know their ages.”

“I’m sorry,” says the other, “I can’t talk anymore, because I have to take my oldest child to the dentist,” and then leaves.

While saying good-bye, the first neighbor thinks, “Ah, now I know their ages.”

This puzzle is typical of the genre, in that it appears there is insufficient information, but those who persist will be rewarded. Can you figure out the three children’s ages?

A slightly different IDK Puzzle involves geometric shapes.

Two people are shown the following five shapes:

They are told that a prize has been placed under one of the shapes. One of the people is told the color, and the other is told the shape, but they are not allowed to share their information with each other.

They are asked, “Do either of you know where the prize is hidden?”

Both of them reply, “I don’t know.”

They are asked a second time, “Do either of you know where the prize is hidden now?”

Again, they both reply, “I don’t know.”

They are asked a third time, “What about now?”

They both reply, “Yes!”

Under what shape has the prize been hidden?

Enjoy solving those puzzles. Staying with the theme, let’s end this post with a logic joke of sorts…

Sam comes home from the grocery store with twelve gallons of milk. Pam asks, “Why’d you buy so much milk?”

“Because before I left, you told me to buy a gallon of milk, and then you said, ‘If they have eggs, buy a dozen.’ And they had eggs.”

Pam shakes her head at Sam’s response. But then she notices he hasn’t bought anything else and asks, “Where are the rest of the things we needed?”

“Remember how you told me to put ketchup on the list?” replies Sam.

“Yeah. So?”

“So I put ketchup on the list, but then I couldn’t read the other items!” Sam says. “But I remembered the eggs!”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

They’re Moving Second Base Push-Up Percentages

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About MJ4MF

The Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks blog is an online extension to the book Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks. The blog contains jokes submitted by readers, new jokes discovered by the author, details about speaking appearances and workshops, and other random bits of information that might be interesting to the strange folks who like math jokes.

MJ4MF (offline version)

Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks is available from Amazon, Borders, Barnes & Noble, NCTM, Robert D. Reed Publishers, and other purveyors of exceptional literature.

Past Posts

April 2022
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to the MJ4MF blog and receive new posts via email.

Join 141 other subscribers

Visitor Locations

free counters