Turn the Page

March 9, 2013 at 3:17 pm 4 comments

After eight fantastic years as the Online Projects Manager at NCTM, it’s time for my next chapter. On Monday, I become the Director of Mathematics for Discovery Education, leading a team that will build digital math techbooks for K‑12. I’m looking forward to building something great. As I mentioned during my interview, “I’m not coming to Discovery to create a textbook; I’m coming to create a movement.”

Discovery Education

Leaving is such sweet sorrow. I’ll miss my friends and colleagues at NCTM, and I’m sad that I’ll no longer be creating resources for Illuminations. On the upside, my departure brought three stories worth sharing.

A Day Off

My last day at NCTM was February 28. That evening, I mentioned to my sons that I would not be going to work the next day. “Do you know why not?” I asked them. Alex suggested, “Because it’s Dr. Seuss’s birthday?” I love that! Celebrating the birth of Theodore Seuss Geisel certainly seems like a great reason for a federal holiday, but the truth is that I was just taking some time off between jobs.

Lesson Learned

The east coast was hit with a snowstorm during my time off, and both the NCTM and Discovery offices were closed. Had I been employed by either organization, I would have spent a day at home with pay. Instead, I spent an upaid eight hours designing the Vennebush Family Flag and playing Uno, Swish, and Qwirkle with the boys, while my gainfully employed wife dialed in to back-to-back-to-back conference calls. Moral: Check the forecast before quitting a job prematurely.

A Parting Gift

One of my colleagues at NCTM gave me a broken calculator. (And, no, this isn’t just a cheesy, elaborate set-up for a silly math problem.) The calculator used to be a normal, fully functioning, scientific calculator, but now it can’t add, subtract, multiply or divide without making an error. The good news is that the error is very predictable. The following video shows the results when using the calculator for four basic arithmetic problems.

The following (incorrect) results are shown in the video:

  • 310 + 677 = 982
  • 13 × 15 = 190
  • 512 ÷ 64 = 3
  • 75 – 10 = 60

And after the last problem, continual presses of the equal key should repeatedly subtract 10, but instead it shows consecutive results of 45, 30, 15, and 0.

Can you discern the pattern?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Math Jokes, Yo! Let It Snow… Hiring, Firing, and Flipping Coins

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fawn Nguyen  |  March 9, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    Best wishes in your new work at Discovery Education, Patrick! Illuminations is one of my favorite go-to resources, so thank you for your contributions there.

    Reply
    • 2. venneblock  |  March 10, 2013 at 11:08 am

      Illuminations (http://illuminations.nctm.org) is a great project, and I’m privileged to have worked on it for so long. It’s in good hands with the current NCTM staff, and I know it’ll be a valuable resource for teachers for a long time to come!

      Reply
  • 3. Shirley A Burns  |  March 10, 2013 at 8:47 am

    Congrats on the new job! It’s Discovery Channel that will “discover” they have gotten a gem 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. venneblock  |  March 10, 2013 at 10:48 am

      Aw, shucks! You’re a sweeetheart for saying that. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About MJ4MF

The Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks blog is an online extension to the book Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks. The blog contains jokes submitted by readers, new jokes discovered by the author, details about speaking appearances and workshops, and other random bits of information that might be interesting to the strange folks who like math jokes.

MJ4MF (offline version)

Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks is available from Amazon, Borders, Barnes & Noble, NCTM, Robert D. Reed Publishers, and other purveyors of exceptional literature.

Past Posts

March 2013
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to the MJ4MF blog and receive new posts via email.

Join 141 other subscribers

Visitor Locations

free counters