Will the Real Steve Reinhart Please Stand Up?

March 12, 2015 at 8:30 am 2 comments

I met Steve Reinhart when he was a presenter at a 2001 NCTM Academy in Branson, MO. I only met him that one time, yet he had a profound effect on my teaching philosophy. Read his article “Never Say Anything a Kid Can Say!” and you’ll see why.

Last week, I met a second Steve Reinhart who works for an educational publisher. I asked the second one if he knew the first one, and he told me a funny story about how he was in his hotel room at a conference, and the door to his room opened. He looked at the guy standing there, realized what happened and asked, “Steve Reinhart?” And the first Steve Reinhart said, “Yep,” paused for a second, then asked, “Are you Steve Reinhart, too?” And the second one said, “Yep.” With the same name, when the first one showed up but there was already one checked in, the hotel receptionist gave the first a key to a room already occupied by the second.

Now, that’s a funny coincidence.

What does a mathematician do when it starts to rain?
Coincide.

At the end of my senior year of college, I finished my last final on Friday afternoon. I then worked 8 hours, headed home and pulled an all-nighter cleaning our apartment before returning the key on Saturday morning, and then headed to work for another 12-hour shift. After work, I trekked to the on-campus hotel where my best friend and I would stay the night before going our separate ways. After nearly 50 hours awake and a 3-mile walk, I was delirious when I arrived at the hotel. I told the hotel clerk my name, and he handed me a key. I walked wearily to the elevator, exited at the second floor, looked at the key to check the room number (it was the olden days — the room number was etched on the brass key that I was given), and proceeded to Room 222.

When I opened the door, a naked, middle-aged woman lying in the bed quickly pulled the sheets over herself, and a naked, middle-aged man sitting on the toilet with the bathroom door ajar gave me a look I’ll never forget. I said, “Oh, my gosh! I’m so sorry,” then quickly exited and closed the door. I heard some indecipherable yelling come from the room as I made my way down the hall.

I returned to the lobby, explained that I must have been given the wrong key, and told the receptionist what I had seen. “I’m very sorry, Mr. Vennebush,” he told me.

“No apology necessary,” I said. “But I don’t think I’m the one you need to be worried about.”

And then, as if on queue, the elevator door opened across the lobby, and an irate-but-now-clothed guest yelled, “What the f**k kind of place is this?”

That was not a funny coincidence.

This is just a funny mathematical coincidence:

\text{liters in a gallon} \approx 3 + \frac{\pi}{4}

And the crazy part? It’s accurate to within 0.00002.

But as far as coincidences go, this is good advice:

It’s far more likely for something to seem suspicious and turn out to be nothing, than for something to seem like nothing and wake up to a smoking crater where your city used to be.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Shoestring Probability P (NFL ∪ Math) > 0

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joshua  |  March 12, 2015 at 9:57 am

    Improve 10% every year is another great idea from that article.

    Just to be clear: the couple at the hotel also was named Vennebush or the check-in clerk gave you the wrong key?

    Reply
    • 2. venneblock  |  March 13, 2015 at 11:08 am

      Yep. Chock full of good stuff!

      No, the couple at the hotel was not named Vennebush. This was the olden days with actual keys for doors, not key cards. So they just handed me the wrong key, it had a room number on it, and that’s where I went. It causes goosebumps just to think about it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About MJ4MF

The Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks blog is an online extension to the book Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks. The blog contains jokes submitted by readers, new jokes discovered by the author, details about speaking appearances and workshops, and other random bits of information that might be interesting to the strange folks who like math jokes.

MJ4MF (offline version)

Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks is available from Amazon, Borders, Barnes & Noble, NCTM, Robert D. Reed Publishers, and other purveyors of exceptional literature.

Past Posts

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to the MJ4MF blog and receive new posts via email.

Join 231 other followers

Visitor Locations

free counters

