Prime Twins

May 2, 2013 at 3:18 am 3 comments

When my wife gave birth to our sons, Alex and Eli, I was so excited that I called the minister immediately. “Reverend,” I said, “Nadine just gave birth to twin boys!”

“That’s fantastic!” he replied. “Why don’t you bring ’em down to the church on Sunday, and we’ll baptize ’em.”

“How ’bout we just baptize one,” I said. “Let’s keep the other as a control.”

It can be difficult to tell that my sons are identical twins. The picture below, for instance, is a red herring — though they’re identical, Alex is using a TI Math Explorer purely for computation, while Eli clearly prefers the graphing capabilities of a TI‑73.

Alex + Eli

Prior to their birth, I tried to imagine mathematical names. There are, of course, many pedantic possibilities…

  • Area and Perimeter (Ari and Peri, for short)
  • Max and Min
  • Vector and Scalar
  • Radius and Diameter
  • Abscissa and Ordinate
  • Sine and Cosine

But I’m not one to settle for low-hanging fruit. I pushed myself to find better options.

  • If and Only If
  • Radius and Apothem
  • Vector and Sector
  • Perp and Dicular
  • Johann and Jakob
  • Catenary and Parabola (Cat and Perry, for short)
  • Lucas Cameron Maximilian and Gregory Caliban Farquhar (aka, LCM and GCF)

Today, my perfect sons turn the perfect age — six! And though I wasn’t able to convince my wife that Epsilon and Delta would have been perfect names, I have to admit that Alex and Eli suit them just fine.

What are your suggestions for mathy twin names?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Mathy Jokes for Old Folks The Math of Disney

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. xander  |  May 2, 2013 at 11:07 am

    When my wife and I were still trying to get pregnant, I suggested that it would be great to have twins. We could name one Control, and the other Variable. She was not amused.

    At the end of last year, my office mate had twins (well, more accurately, his wife had twins). I suggested that he name them Epsilon and Delta. I think he went with something more traditionally Nepalese. I did, however, get him a set of onsies with the letters \varepsilon and \delta on them. 😉

    (And maybe this time I got the LaTeX tag right.)

    xander

    Reply
    • 2. venneblock  |  May 3, 2013 at 8:47 am

      Indeed, Xander! The LaTeX looks great. You’ve proven that an old dog can learn new tricks.

      Reply
  • […] Prime Twins (mathjokes4mathyfolks.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About MJ4MF

The Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks blog is an online extension to the book Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks. The blog contains jokes submitted by readers, new jokes discovered by the author, details about speaking appearances and workshops, and other random bits of information that might be interesting to the strange folks who like math jokes.

MJ4MF (offline version)

Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks is available from Amazon, Borders, Barnes & Noble, NCTM, Robert D. Reed Publishers, and other purveyors of exceptional literature.

Past Posts

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to the MJ4MF blog and receive new posts via email.

Join 243 other followers

Visitor Locations

free counters

