Husband of the Year

May 16, 2011 at 7:59 am 9 comments

My wife and I are celebrating our seventh anniversary today. The following joke epitomizes our relationship.

My wife and I were comparing notes the other day. “I have a higher IQ, I did better on my SATs, and I make more money than you,” she pointed out.

“That’s all true,” I said, “but if you’re so much smarter than I am, why weren’t you smart enough to marry up?”

I’m a good but not great husband. (My wife would agree with that assessment.) But it’s not my fault. It’s just the way I’m wired. I spend way too much time thinking about numbers and shapes. While listening to her story about a really frustrating colleague she’s been dealing with, I’ll begin to daydream of triangles. Awakened when she asks, “Can you believe that?” I garner no good will when I respond, “Of course not. I mean, who would have thought that the first two Brocard points are isogonal conjugates?”

Still, I’m not as bad as this guy…

A mathematician drives to his colleague’s office early one morning, and they start discussing a problem that he’s been working on. They talk and talk and talk, making good progress. Around noon, the colleague says, “I’m hungry. How about we continue this conversation over lunch?”

They spend a long lunch discussing the problem further. They then return to the office and continue talking. Before they know it, it’s dark outside. The colleague says, “I’m getting hungry again. Should we continue this conversation over dinner?”

The mathematician thinks for a minute. “No,” he says, “I better not. My wife’s waiting in the car.”

Happy anniversary, Nadine. The first seven have been wonderful, and I’m looking forward to the next seventy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Pentagon Flower and Polygonal Jokes Mathy Names

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. xander  |  May 16, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Happy anniversary to the both of you. And thank you for reminding me that my wife is waiting in the car. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. venneblock  |  May 16, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    That’s what I’m here for — to provide valuable public service!

    Reply
  • 3. wendryn (aka xander's wife)  |  May 16, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    Hey! He came back to the car! Thanks for reminding him!

    Being married to a math geek is never boring. I don’t always understand what’s going on in his head, but it makes for interesting conversations, anyway.

    Happy anniversary!

    Reply
    • 4. venneblock  |  May 17, 2011 at 8:29 am

      OMG — he’s got YOU sucked into reading my blog, too? Allow me to apologize on his behalf for any time you waste.

      Reply
  • 5. tskraghu  |  May 17, 2011 at 5:58 am

    That was a new one!

    Here’s another new stuff (at least i had not come across before) at:
    http://ksriranga.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/maths-going-awfully-wrong/

    Reply
  • 6. Chad T. Lower  |  May 18, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Happy Anniversary to you both. I pray you have many, many more to come.

    Reply
  • 7. tskraghu  |  May 18, 2011 at 11:14 am

    May I add my best wishes for sanguine health, bountiful prospertity, unbounded happiness and divine grace!

    Reply
    • 8. venneblock  |  May 18, 2011 at 10:15 pm

      Thanks to everyone for the wonderful wishes. I married the best woman in the world for me, and I expect many more fantastic years, too!

      Reply
  • 9. Bon Crowder  |  June 1, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Congrats!

    Husband knows that it’s difficult being married to a Mathematician. But he’s learned that it’s easier than being married to a high maintenance princess.

    The tables at our wedding were numbered with primes. Bless his heart for staying with me for three years. And bless Nadine for staying with you for seven! (not factorial)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About MJ4MF

The Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks blog is an online extension to the book Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks. The blog contains jokes submitted by readers, new jokes discovered by the author, details about speaking appearances and workshops, and other random bits of information that might be interesting to the strange folks who like math jokes.

MJ4MF (offline version)

Math Jokes 4 Mathy Folks is available from Amazon, Borders, Barnes & Noble, NCTM, Robert D. Reed Publishers, and other purveyors of exceptional literature.

Past Posts

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to the MJ4MF blog and receive new posts via email.

Join 232 other followers

Visitor Locations

free counters

